Choices and Forgiveness–It is all your Choice!

Wow what a difference 3 years makes. 300 pounds down, and I am still losing weight. Sometimes I am angry that I am not done yet. Other times I am awe inspired by my journey. Then again, I just get tired too.

So what does weight loss come down too? Choices. You know in life we are born with the ability to learn. Part of that is learning the choices that we make are good and bad for us. How did I get to be 589 pounds? Because the choices I made for myself were typically the bad choices in regard to food and exercise/activity.

So how do you change? You have to change your mind set and realize that you, yourself are making the choices that effect your life every day. You yourself have the power of influence to change your lifestyle. What if you thought of those bad choices as the ultimate deception of your spirit. The ultimate deception of the person who you want to be tomorrow?

Truly what clicked for me was, I am accountable to the person I want to be tomorrow today. Every choice I make, effects the person I want to be tomorrow today. That was my quote when I lost 100 pounds and I started to think now what? I worried that I would revert back–That quote came to me. I’ve been living by it since. How amazing is it that I control the ultimate outcome to my story?

People wonder if it is as simple as that? YES it is. But, the other key to weight loss or making any change in your life, you must remember that people are fallible.  We make mistakes.. In fact we are apt to make bad choices. What happens when you make those bad choices? In the past if I ate a cookie, had a pizza, or missed a work out. I would say, oh well–I messed up so I can mess up all day long. I’ll get back on track tomorrow.

When tomorrow came, well… I guess I can start tomorrow…. Those are MORE bad choices. What if….. In one instance you ate that cookie… You know that oatmeal, cinnamon, buttery goodness of a cookie, that is bigger then your hand… What if you ate that? Then said.. Wow, I know that was a bad choice.. I forgive myself for this instance and *I* OWE myself more good days and more good choices than bad. What happens??

Rather then making excuses… Acknowledging the bad choice and forgiving yourself. This gets you back on track immediately. You accept you ate the wrong thing. You work harder to not do the same thing again.

Can weight loss be this simple? CAN you truly find solace in forgiving, acceptance, and moving forward? I simply say this…. It is your *choice* to try!

YOU CAN do it!!! I CAN do it!!! Stay healthy everyone!

Shannon

8 thoughts on “Choices and Forgiveness–It is all your Choice!

  1. Great post…I have been living by the principle you talked about, “Oh well, I screwed up. I’ll fix it tomorrow. Tomorrow never happened. Wishing you continued success on your journey.

  2. Hi Shannon,
    My name is Jessica and I just needed to tell you how much of an inspiration you are to me! You are absolutely incredible! I started my weight loss journey at 366lbs and I am proud to say that I’ve lost 76lbs, but I’m constantly thinking about how much I have left to lose. Your blog has helped me so much!!!
    Thank you, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!
    Jessica

    • Hi Jessica! T
      Thank you so much for your comment. I am really proud of you! 76 lbs is a great accomplishment. Don’t get so focused on your numbers, get more focused on your journey. What you are accomplishing! WHO do you want to be tomorrow?? Be that person today! That will help you out so much!!

      Shannon

  3. I think I’m worse than “ok I screwed up I’ll fix it tomorrow”. I think my mantra has been “Oh well, I’ll start again next week”
    What an amazing story – you lost 300lbs! That’s almost 2 of me. My challenge seems like nothing compared to yours. At 162 I’m categorised as obese and need to lose about 2 stone. Some days it feels like a mountain but I guess it’s really not.
    What a great mantra – “Every choice I make, effects the person I want to be tomorrow today!” … to me it sounds like addidas’ “nothing is impossible” fits your perfectly too.
    Well done. A true inspiration.

    • Hi there to one of my favorite countries–IRELAND! 🙂

      I had to look up what a stone is in pounds, and realize it is 28 pounds? That is a hill to climb. The closer you get to your goals the harder it is to get those last few pounds gone. I’ve got about 60ish to go for me. Staying focused on my goals becomes a bit harder. However, was in Church yesterday and heard a message about taking aim for what you want, staying focused, and making it happen. Don’t take your eyes off of what you want. Just make it happen! I loved that message, and thought it spoke loudly to me. I like the nothing is impossible too. 🙂 We can go to Nike and Just Do It. Yet, I like the fact that everything I have done has been about listening to those inner voices and making the RIGHT choices. It is so important in life that we realize that our choices influence everything we do.. We need to focus on those right choices, rather then the numbers. If I do things right—–The numbers will do what they are supposed to!:)

      Shannon

  4. Hi Shannon, J from 52 weeks.. referred me to this. I had a bad day and a big binge after not having had one for ages. AND… I had many moments where I stopped to think about what I was about to do – and I just did it anyway! My blog post from today mentioned that I felt I was asking forgiveness from my readers, but I realised it was myself I needed to forgive (hence J thinking your post was relevant). Which it was!

    Thanks (very timely!)
    Deb

Leave a comment